MANA – {Tim Shahady Photography – NJ Photographer)

Last weekend I had the great pleasure to go shoot the Mexican band MANA at the Prudential Center in Newark, NJ.  The band has a huge following but is less well known out of Spanish speaking circles.  That is a shame!  These guys bring an amazing energy to their live shows that everyone can enjoy.

My main subject was Alex Gonzalez, the charismatic drummer of the band.  Paiste wanted to get some new shots of him and I was happy to oblige.

Even though I didn’t understand a word they said, the energy was infectious and I couldn’t wipe the smile from my face.  About halfway through the set, the band made their way to a stage in the center of the arena to perform closer to the fans in the back.

If MANA comes to your town, it is worth the money to catch their show.  If you are a drummer you will be blown away by Alex’s high energy performance and interesting approach to arena rock.  The sound was some of the best I’ve heard at any show. Each drum and cymbal (and the rest of the band) could be clearly heard even as Alex played some fast, complicated parts.

For tour dates and more information about MANA go to: http://www.mana.com.mx/en

For more of my photos go to http://www.timshahadyphotography.com

This entry was posted in music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to MANA – {Tim Shahady Photography – NJ Photographer)

  1. biby12 says:

    Awesome! How were you able to shoot from the stage? You got amazing captures!

  2. Best band ever to come out of Mexico….Been a TRUE fan since “MTV Unplugged’ came out. I even went to see them with an IV and a G-tube sticking out of my stomach for cancer. I WILL get their burning heart symbol tattooed in the very near future.

  3. Ali says:

    Awesome pics I love the last one with Alex and his drum kit.

  4. Gloria says:

    They are great pictures, I was there.

  5. Kim Rowley says:

    Nice pictures. Since being asked to insure a Mana tour in the mid-nineties I’m probably one of the few people in Britain other than friends and family who’ve even heard of this superb band.

  6. Martha Jimenez says:

    I like the pictures. Alex Drum Kit and him standing up looked spectacular. I love the work of the photographer and the comments too. Yes Mana really rocks and give the best to us.

  7. Isa says:

    Very very nice pictures congrats, Love Mana!!!!

  8. vicko200927 says:

    QUE VIVA EL ROCK =-) MANA FOREVER!!! THEY’RE THE BEST !!!!! LOVE U SERGIO ❤

  9. Nancy Lopez says:

    Thanks for sharing the awesome pics and the review… I have been five times in their concerts and am just ready for my 6th one next year!!!

  10. echocharlie says:

    MOST EXCELLENT pics Tim >>

    Eddie

  11. mochoa says:

    Love the pics!!! Had the pleasure to go to their concert in Los Angeles, Ca and all I can say is that it was AMAZING!!!

  12. erica says:

    one of my favorite bands ever! great photos!

  13. Yeslia says:

    HUGE MANA fan Here!!!!! Your pictures are amazing….I love the fact that Non-Latin Americans get to appreciate them as much as we adore them….. AND they are not only are amazing artists/performers but are also the founders of “Selva Negra” an earth friendly nonprofit to raise awareness on global warming and world poverty <3<3<3

  14. ORLANDO says:

    MUY BUENAS FOTOS , ADEMAS MUY HERMOSA LA BATERIA DE ALEX .
    QUSIERA SABER ALEX , CUAL ES EL RIDE QUE TIENES ? EL MIO ES UN 20 INCHES ZILDJIAN DARK CUSTOM . TE FELICITO ERES UN GRAN BATERISTA .

  15. Eric R. says:

    These guys are amazing! Nice pics also…

  16. Sandra says:

    Amazing! Best concert I ever went to. They did not disappoint! LOVE MANA!!!

  17. jazmin says:

    I was there and I loved it, energy was amazing !!! Great pictures by the way.

  18. gilma contreras says:

    Gracias por compzrtir estas fotografias extraordinario trabajo

  19. gracias por compartir las fotografias extraordinario trabajo

  20. wooowww… these pics are amazing, i love mana… they are the greatest band in the world!!!xD

  21. Best Latin American rock band ever!!!!, I’m a big Mana’s fan since 1992 and I was at the concert last Saturday. Amazing sound, amazing performance from all the guys, specially Alex, he’s regarded as the best drummer in Latin America and last Saturday he demonstrated it one more time.

  22. Gfredy says:

    I was there and.. I’m at the upper right corner of the 5th picture! very nice pictures, the concert was awesome! Great pictures!

  23. Vivian says:

    they r amazing!!!!!

  24. yasna says:

    hola chicos los felicito por sus concierto cuando vienen a chile ojala que se a pronto
    amor clandestino genial

  25. dina says:

    Hola Maná, buenisimas fotos , el cd es genial. los espero en Chile. un abrazo. Dina

  26. Iraj says:

    You are not Kidding Tim..I m a Sri Lankan live in Chicago Married to Spanish Wife- we never missed mana ‘they come to town. amazing band ! great music!! even my 11 yr daughter now dig in some mana stuff- they give so much happiness to folks who go see them, I see their growth -progress from the cassate days. so happy for them, almost you know them personally , working with Russo w new album the high tech AV SHOW THEY PUT OUT SOME THING TO SEE. so happy for those guys. LIKE GREAT ITALIAN SINGER ZUCHERRO SAYS viva Mana!! COME BACK TO CHICAGO tail end of the show , we will be waiting !! till then hello you tube!

  27. keldrums says:

    mana .. alex lo maximo

  28. GREAT PICS..I WAS FORTUNATE I WAS THEIR IN LOS ANGELES FOR THE THRS/SUNDAY..IT WAS SO AMAZIN SPECTACULAR…I STILL FEEL THE MUSIC AND ALL US FANS SCREAMIN WITH JOY..LUVIN MANA BEST ROCK GROUP EVER..MANA IS LO MAXIMO…CANT WAIT FOR THE GRAMMYS……………..SWEET

  29. CRISTINA ALMEIDA SILVA says:

    Todas as fotos estão lindas,quando paro pra ouvir as canções,sinto-me como se fossem feitas pra mim.Porque me trás muita paz.

  30. Eve says:

    Hi Tim, I WAS THEEEERE! Very energizing concert. Thank you for the awesome pictures, you are the best. Huge Manatica fan here! first of all because they all are great musicians and human beings who care about the world we live in. Just check their web site “Selva Negra” as Yeslia said, a non profit oganization about ways to help our much abused world.
    Again, AWESOME PICS TIM! TX

Leave a Reply

